Islamic Halal Food Products Inc.
What is Haram?

Haram is the opposite of Halal. The meaning of the Arabic term “Haram” is unlawful, illegal, prohibited, or forbidden under Shariah (Islamic Law). Items are Haram if they are specifically prohibited by the Qur’an and the Sunnah (Tradition) of the Prophet SAW.

Haram substances include:

Alcohol, Narcotic Drugs, and Intoxicants
Blood and blood by-products
Swine and Pork meat and by-products
Lard
Carnivorous Animals
Birds of Prey
Scavengers
Improperly slaughtered animals
Sick or dying animals
Mutilated or injured animals
Dead animals that were not slaughtered properly prior to death
Animals sacrificed to idols or as part of any practice that denies the existence of Allah, the One God
Food contaminated by any of the above products.
 

Certain ingredients that come from animal sources must be derived from only Halal sources in order for the foods that contain them to be considered Halal:

Fats of animal - must be derived from animals that are Islamically slaughtered
Enzymes - microbial enzymes must be derived from plants or Islamically slaughtered animals
Gelatin – must be derived from fish or from Islamically slaughtered animals
L-cysteine – must be derived from synthetic materials
Lipids – must be derived from plants or Islamically slaughtered animals
Shortening - must be derived from plants or Islamically slaughtered animals
Meat Broth and Stock – must be derived from Islamically slaughtered animals
Rennet – must be derived from plant, microbial, or synthetic sources or from Islamically slaughtered animals
Tallow – must be derived from Islamically slaughtered animals
 
 
 
 
 
What is Halal?
What is Haram?
Our Services
Contact Form
IslamicFinder
Islamic Calendar
IslamiCity
Islamic Halal Food Products
PO BOX 3546
New Hyde Park NY 11040
Call
516 620 4566
Fax
516 627 1123
Copyright © 2013 Islamic HALAL